Ian Young

Chair of Organising Committee

Professor Ian S.Young  BSc MD FRCP FRCPath
Professor of Medicine / Chief Scientific Advisor
Queen’s University Belfast / Department of Health (NI)


Ian Young is Professor of Medicine at Queen’s University Belfast, and Deputy Medical Director and Consultant Chemical Pathologist at Belfast Health and Social Care Trust.  In addition, he is Chief Scientific Advisor to the Department of Health, Northern Ireland, and Director of Research for Health and Social Care.   His main clinical and research interests are in nutrition and lipid metabolism, particularly in relation to cardiovascular disease prevention and management of patients with complex lipid disorders.  He is author of over 400 published research papers.  He is currently Past-President of the Association for Clinical Biochemistry and Laboratory Medicine, and Chair of the Joint Committee for Traceability in Laboratory Medicine (JCTLM). He is a member of the UK Government’s Scientific Advisory Committee on Nutrition, and the Scientific Advisory Board of the UK National Institute of Biological Standards and Controls.  He is Associate Editor for Clinical Chemistry, and a member of the editorial boards of a number of other international journals.  

Maurice O’ Kane

Scientific Chair

Dr Maurice O’Kane is a consultant chemical pathologist at Altnagelvin Hospital, Derry / Londonderry , N. Ireland. He has undertaken various roles within the ACB including N. Ireland Regional Chair, Director of the Clinical Practice Section and is currently deputy editor of the Annals of Clinical Biochemistry and Laboratory Medicine. Other activities include Director of the N. Ireland Clinical Research Network and visiting professor at Ulster University.

Graham Lee

Scientific Committee

Dr Graham Lee is a Consultant Clinical Biochemist and works in Clinical Biochemistry & Diagnostic Endocrinology services across 3 hospitals in Ireland;  Mater Misericordiae University Hospital  Cappagh National Orthopaedic Hospital, Dublin and Midland Regional Hospital, Mullingar.  He holds an adjunct academic position as Assistant Clinical Professor with University College Dublin.  He commenced his training in the N Ireland region, working in the Royal Victoria, City and Ulster Hospitals.   He is a previous Chair of the ACB Republic of Irealnd region and President of the Association of Clinical Biochemists in Ireland (ACBI)

Clodagh Loughrey

Scientific Committee

Chemical pathologist in Belfast HSC Trust since 2001. Trained in Queen’s University, Belfast, and Boston Children’s Hospital. Interested in clinical nutrition, obesity and diabetes, inherited metabolic disorders, medical management and pathology modernisation.

Gareth McKeeman

Scientific Committee

Completed BSc (Hon) in Biomedical Science at Queen’s University Belfast (1999) and then went on to do a PhD (Queen’s University Belfast, 2003), before working as a Research Fellow at Queen’s University Belfast from 2003 to 2007, working as a lab manager for a large multi-centre clinical trial. I moved to the NHS in 2007 taking up a trainee Clinical Scientist post (Clinical Biochemistry) within the Belfast Health & Social Care Trust. During this I completed a MSc (Clinical Biochemistry with Molecular Biology, University of Surrey, 2009) and then FRCPath (2012), during Principal Clinical Scientist posts, before taking up my current position of Consultant Clinical Scientist (General Automation / Immunoproteins), Dept. Clinical Biochemistry, Belfast Health & Social Care Trust in 2015.

Sumana Gidwani

Scientific Committee

Dr Sumana Gidwani is a Consultant Chemical Pathologist / Metabolic Medicine and Educational supervisor for Foundation trainees at the Northern health and Social Care Trust. Diabetes, lipids and obesity are her fields of interest.
She is actively involved in teaching undergraduate and postgraduate medical students as well as biomedical students and scientists. She is the lead for the Bowel Screening laboratory at Causeway Hospital, NHSCT



Congress Dates

10 – 12 March 2021


Call for Abstracts


Abstract Submission Ends



Registration Opens



Early Registration Ends